INFO Breaking

Breaking News

If you drive a car in California, there are certain laws that affect you. Under the state's insurance laws, you are financially responsible for your actions. You must show your ability to pay for damages or injury to others resulting from the ownership or operation of a car in the state.  Every driver and owner of a car is financially responsible for their actions. The statutory liability insurance in California is subject to the following limits...

Bodily Injury

  • $15,000 for death or injury of any one person, any one accident.
  • $30,000 for all persons in any one accident.

Property Damage

  • $5,000 for any one accident.

Financial responsibility can be achieved in four ways...

  1. Coverage by a motor vehicle or automobile liability insurance policy.
  2. Depositing $35,000 with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
  3. If you own a fleet of more than 25 vehicles, the Department of Motor Vehicles will issue you a certificate of self insurance.
  4. A California licensed insurance company can provide you with a surety bond for $35,000.

Under California law, you must have at least the statutory limits of minimum liability insurance or an approved substitute to compensate for injury or property damage you may cause. Nonconformity with the law will subject you to extremely harsh penalties. Your license may be suspended, for example.

You can easily comply with California Car Insurance Laws by buying an auto insurance policy. It is your responsibility to provide liability insurance for any car you own regardless of who is operating the vehicle. It is illegal for cars to be operated without meeting this law.

And, with the internet, you really do NOT have to waste time shopping for the best policy for you. All you have to do is go to a reputable insurance quotes site, complete a form and then you'll get auto insurance quotes from a number of agents. It has never been this easy to get the policy you need.